are Kutlug Ataman, Jeremy Deller, Langlands and Bell, and Yinka Shonibare. This writer of this BBC report, which includes links to view the artists’ works, seems to savor the memory of past Turner controversies… can this year’s winner top Grayson Perry, who accepted his laurels draped in unforgettable drag?

- Jeannine McDonald [Tuesday, May 18th, 2004]


From the editors